Wednesday, October 5, 2022
HomeMusicTiny Desk (Residence) Live performance : NPR

Tiny Desk (Residence) Live performance : NPR

I like seeing buddies taking part in comfortably at residence, particularly when these buddies are members of my favourite band. What we see on this Tiny Desk (residence) live performance is playfulness substituting for the depth that I usually discover in Huge Thief on a giant stage. This band has made a lot of my best-loved albums previously few years, starting with its 2016 debut Masterpiece and together with its 2022 double-album Dragon New Heat Mountain I Consider in You. The primary three songs on this set all come from that album and had been written by singer Adrianne Lenker, with “Certainty” co-written with guitarist Buck Meek.

Huge Thief songs are sometimes stuffed with tender tales and poetic and playful phrases. I can say the identical for Adrianne Lenker’s many solo albums and for Buck Meek’s 2021 solo album, Two Saviors. Drummer James Krivchenia produced Huge Thief’s latest album and in addition a 2020 ambient album of his personal, A New Discovered Rest. Max Oleartchik performs upright bass for this intimate acoustic set on the highest ground of a home in “windy Connecticut.”

There is a little bit of a “maintain on to your hat” really feel right here, with gamers watching one another for a attainable shock. Perhaps it is James Krivchenia’s banjo percussion, the galloping rhythm on “Certainty” or how the 4 musicians sing aloud on a refrain; it’s so a lot enjoyable to see all of it unfold. The ultimate music was the most important shock; it is an unreleased music Huge Thief has been performing, appropriately referred to as “Happiness.”


  • “Change”
  • “Dried Roses”
  • “Certainty”
  • “Happiness”


  • Adrianne Lenker: vocals, guitar
  • Buck Meek: guitar, vocals
  • Max Oleartchik: bass, vocals
  • James Krivchenia: percussion, vocals


  • Video by Adam Gundersheimer & Vanessa Haddad
  • Audio by Alice Wilder 


  • Producer: Bob Boilen
  • Video Editor: Michael Zamora
  • Audio Mastering: Josh Rogosin
  • Tiny Manufacturing Crew: Bobby Carter, Kara Body, Joshua Bryant, Maia Stern, Ashley Pointer
  • VP, Visuals and Music: Keith Jenkins
  • Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments